Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Seneca High School

High School

Working...

Ajax Loading Image

 

WELCOME TO THE SPECIAL EDUCATION DEPARTMENT

The Special Education Department Mission is to provide support, instruction, and guidance that empowers students to achieve their goals so that they can be as independent as possible in their adult lives.

It is the goal of the special education department for students to participate to the maximum extent possible in the general education environment.  To that end, students in special education may receive:

  • Accommodations and modifications to the general educational environment listed in the IEP to address disabilities and deficits
  • Individualized and evidence-based instruction in small-group settings that seeks to build the student’s skills
  • A supported Resource course in which students can receive organizational help and assistance on assignments
  • Coordination with outside agencies that can provide services to help students be more successful
  • Case management from a Special Education teacher who can coordinate with families, provide oversight for the student, report on a student’s performance and goal progress, and support a student’s transition to adult life

 

The Special Education Department Curriculum:

Courses # of semesters Credit
English 2 1
Math 2 1
Health 1 .5
World History 2 1
U.S. History/Govt. 2/1 1/.5
Art 2 1
Step I/II 2 1
Resource 2 1
Daily Living 2 1
Physical Science 2 1
Life Science 2 1


The Special Education Department Instructors:

Mr. Levi Derber
Email: lderber@senecahs.org
Phone: 815-357-5304

Ms. Allie Lardi
Email: alardi@senecahs.org
Phone: 815-357-5098

Mrs. Jackie Ugolini
Email: jugolini@senecahs.org
Phone: 815-357-5305

Mr. Blake Slutz
Email: bslutz@senecahs.org
Phone: 815-357-5096


The Special Education Department Aides:

Mrs. JoAnn Alsvig
Email: jalsvig@senecahs.org
Phone: 815-357-5000

Mrs. Miranda Brockman
Email: mbrockman@senecahs.org
Phone: 815-357-5000

Mrs. Jodi Trager
Email: jtrager@senecahs.org
Phone: 815-357-5000

Miss Amanda Houchin
Email: ahouchin@senecahs.org
Phone:  815-357-5000

Mrs. Brenda Westmoreland
Email: bwestmoreland@senecahs.org
Phone: 815-357-5000

 

 

 

Related Sites

Note: Pages will open in a new browser window. External pages are not endorsed by Seneca High School.